Riders in the USA Pro Cycle Challenge
Stage Winners
Telluride Gondola 2012 USA Pro Cycling Challenge

On August 20, 2012 the Telluride community will welcome Olympians, World Champions and Tour de France podium winners as they begin a race through the Colorado Rocky Mountains, enduring more mountain passes than any other race in North America. Ajax Peak and historic Main Street will provide a striking backdrop for the Stage 1 finish of the 2012 USA Pro Cycling Challenge.

Referred to as “America’s Race,” the second annual USA Pro Cycling Challenge will take place August 20-26, 2012. More than 1 million spectators are expected to line the route to see if Levi Leipheimer will defend his title as winner of the 2011 USA Pro Cycling Challenge. One of the largest cycling events in United States history, the 2012 race will feature the best of the best in professional cycling, competing on a challenging course through some of America’s most beautiful scenery.

Marking one of the best fields ever assembled on American soil for a professional cycling race, the provisionary team rosters for the 2012 USA Pro Challenge have been confirmed. Emphasizing the competitive level of the field, the race will include six of the top 13 finishers from this year’s Tour de France – Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) of Liquigas-Cannondale, Tejay Van Garderen (USA) of BMC Racing,  Cadel Evans (AUS) of BMC Racing Team, Janez Brajkovic (SLO) from Astana Pro Team, and RadioShack-Nissan-Trek riders Andreas Kloden (GER) and Chris Horner (USA).

The USA Pro Challenge will include 10 of the top 12 finishers from last year, including the top 5. Also featured will be Taylor Phinney (USA) of BMC Racing Team who recently secured two fourth place finishes at the London Olympics. Three of the past four USPRO National Champions in the road race (Tim Duggan - 2012, Ben King - 2010, George Hincapie - 2009) will line up in Colorado, as well as two former Giro d’Italia winners – Ivan Basso (ITA) and Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) of Liquigas-Cannondale.

Click here for complete team rosters.